Good Friday, the Most Important Day in the Church Year

Robert Waters shares thoughts on Good Friday on his blog. Good food for thought.

One comment on “Good Friday, the Most Important Day in the Church Year

  1. fathertheophilus says:

    In light of this post, it says volumes that some Protestants don’t even celebrate Good Friday at all. Our attitude toward Good Friday has become like our attitude toward fasting – let’s just skip that and jump to the feast. But you can’t have resurrection without death or glory before the cross.

    I am just back from leading a Tenebrae Vespers service and every year I seem to have less and less to say in the sermon. And it’s not because I’ve “already said it all,” but because what more can be said? It almost seems pretentious to get up there and say anything after you’ve read the Passion according to St. John. And the hymns! How can any Christian pass this holyday by? These two stanzas from Gerhardt’s “Upon the Cross Extended” helped to drive home what Good Friday is all about:

    ‘Tis I who should be smitten
    My doom should here be written:
    Bound hand and foot in hell.
    The fetters and the scourging,
    The floods around Thee surging,
    ‘Tis I who have deserved them well.

    The load Thou takest on Thee,
    That pressed so sorely on me,
    t crushed me to the ground.
    The cross for me enduring,
    The crown for me securing,
    My healing in Thy wounds is found.

    His hymns preach better than I ever could. Protestant staples like “The Old Rugged Cross” seem so schmaltzy and shallow compared to rich Lutheran hymnody like this.

    This Friday is indeed good.

Leave a Reply

